about header

About Us

The OAGS Presidency is currently held by the representative from Nigeria and the regional Vice-Presidency which consists of:

  • Northern Region: Morocco
  • Southern Region: Botswana
  • Eastern Region: Kenya
  • Central Region: Chad
  • Western Region: Senegal

South Africa provides is the permanent Secretariat of the OAGS.

The mandate of the Organisation of African Geological Surveys (OAGS) is to foster and sustain geoscience programmes and excellence on the African continent in the quest for socio-economic development and poverty alleviation, with special reference to mineral resource assessment, sustainable land use and development, hazard mitigation and environmental protection.

about us