about header

12thAGMThe Organisation of African Geological Surveys (OAGS) held its 12th Annual General Meeting (AGM) from the 15th to 18th September 2019 in Abuja, Nigeria. The AGM was attended by 19 member States’ Heads of Geological Surveys or their respective representatives from Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic (Participation proxy to Chad), Comoros, Chad, The Gambia, Ghana, Republic of Guinea, Mali, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria (President of the OAGS), Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa (Permanent Secretariat). The AGM noted apologies from Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, South Sudan, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia. The AGM welcomed and acknowledged participation of partners, including the representatives of ECOWAS Commission, European Geological Surveys (EGS), Geological Society of Africa (GSAf), OneGeology and PanAfGeo.

The first day of the meeting was dedicated to the Executive Committee proceedings in preparation for the AGM. In attendance was the President (Nigeria), Vice Presidents for Southern Region (Botswana), Western Region (Senegal) and Central Region (Chad), Secretariat (South Africa) and Ex-Officio (Namibia). Read More